by Neil Irving

Radio Radio

Colm & Glen have both done some recent radio interviews for their respective record releases. Listen in:

Colm talked with Philip King at South Wind Blows on RTÉ Radio 1 & they played a couple of tunes from the new record, And Now The Weather due out April 17 (you can pre-order it now here!).

Glen’s been chatting with a few folks about his Jason Molina tribute EP coming out March 17 – it’s called It Was Triumph We Once Proposed…Songs of Jason Molina & it features some of Jason’s old Songs:Ohia bandmates as well as Mr. Rob Bochnik. This group will be on Late Night with David Letterman on March 17.

– At WHFB radio in Bloomington, Indiana (the home of Jason’s record label Secretly Canadian) Glen talked & sang 2 songs.
– An impromptu interview with Ray D’Arcy at RTÉ Radio 1 (just after recording an interview with NPR at the station)
NPR Weekend Edition Sunday “What Glen Hansard Learned From His Friend Jason Molina”

colm_new_Rich Gilligan

Colm’s upcoming gigs

Colm will be performing around Ireland in the coming months to celebrate the release of And Now The Weather (Agus Anois An Aimsir) on 17 April. Check him out when he comes to your town!

31 March – Dublin, IE – Twisted Pepper (Banter with Jim Carroll, ) (preview)

12 April – Dublin, IE – Vicar Street (Barrytown Meets Musictown) (preview)

17 April – Dublin, IE – Whelan’s (Record Launch Party)

29 May – Dún Laoghaire, IE – The Pavilion Theatre

12 – 15 June – County Clare, IE – Hotel Doolin (Doolin Festival)

and of course, with The Frames in July to celebrate their 25th anniversary!


New Record Coming from Colm!

Exciting news today – Colm is releasing his second solo record a mere 7 years after his debut The Hare’s Corner! And Now The Weather (Agus Anois An Aimsir) will be available on 17 April and on that night there’s a launch party at Whelan’s to celebrate. Tickets for the gig are on sale this Thursday 12 February at the Whelan’s website. Read more about the record on Colm’s site & listen to a new track “The Finnish Line” here on soundcloud.


Iveagh Gardens part 2!

The Frames have added a second night in Iveagh Gardens on 5th July! Tickets go on sale for this show on Wednesday 4 February at 9am.


Jason Molina / Songs:Ohia Tribute

“Jason Molina was a hero and a friend, I wrote him my first fan letter, I always loved his music and singing these songs is the only way to make sense of losing him.”

Glen, along with Rob Bochnik, Jeff Panall, Jennie Benford and Dan and Rob Sullivan, have recorded a tribute EP for their late friend Jason Molina of Songs:Ohia. It Was Triumph We Once Proposed…Songs of Jason Molina features 5 tracks including “Being In Love”, which you can listen to now… [click through]

Older news...